Somewhere It’s Over 32 Degrees!

Last weekend I was in NYC playing tourist in the -10 degree weather.  By Sunday the temperature had “rebounded” into the single digits and there were mild snow showers.  Back home in Maine however, they got a foot and a half of snow on Sunday, the majority of which is blowing in every direction today.  

What’s my point?  I don’t have one really except that I’m beginning to get the winter doldrums and it’s a good month ahead of schedule.  Maybe it’s my age, or my desire to see if we can squeeze at least one week of decent weather out of next summer, but I’m feeling impatient for the snow to melt and the sun to feel warmer.  Last year, I visited NYC over February vacation and sat outside on a deck chair at Southside Seaport.  Being just 6 hours from home and have it warm enough to enjoy the sunny weather made the blustery and snow March bearable.

Today’s sunny weather is encouraging, even if the wind is buffeting my window as I write.  I know that somewhere in the world, it is warmer and on days like today, I really count on that.

Knitting Update

Stash roulette:  Working on second bib.  I hope to have this one finished by the weekend and work on the third next week which will keep me on track.

College blanket:  Hasn’t touched my hands since before I left for NYC but I am hoping to get back into the routine of a strip a day once this month’s roulette project is done.

Boobies:  I may not have mentioned it before but I knit prosthetic breasts for breast cancer patients along with the ladies at the Knitting Experience.  I brought yarn and my needles with me to NYC and knit two “knockers” for Obama’s day of service on Monday.  I have to say, I was very grateful to  have something to do with my hands because we sat in the teeny plane, on the runway for two hours and then had to navigate some bumpy airspace on our way home.  Apparently, I pray better when my hands have something to hold!

Leave a Reply

